Trentino Alto Adige

Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol (AFI: /trenˈtino ˈalto ˈadiʤe/; Trentino-Südtirol in German, Trentin-Südtirol in Ladin) is a special-status Italian region in north-eastern Italy of 1 075 920 inhabitants, with the capital Trento.

The territory of the region was assigned to Italy in 1919 following the Treaty of Saint Germain for the victory of the Kingdom of Italy on the side of the Entente over the Austro-Hungarian Empire during World War I, thus completing the national unification begun in the Risorgimento.

Following the entry into force of the new Statute of Autonomy in 1972, the region was largely disempowered and most of its competences transferred directly to the Autonomous Province of Trento and the Autonomous Province of Bolzano.

This institutional structure can be traced back to the different linguistic composition of the population, almost entirely Italian-speaking in Trentino and in majority German-speaking in Alto Adige with the exception of five municipalities (Bolzano, Bronzolo, Laives, Salorno and Vadena) where the linguistic majority is Italian, and eight municipalities (La Valle, Badia, Corvara in Badia, Marebbe, San Martino in Badia, Santa Cristina Valgardena, Selva di Val Gardena, Ortisei) where the linguistic majority is Ladin.

The Stages

along a unique experience,
safely prepared


an invitation to explore the beauty and
the depths of the Camino