Umbria is a region in central Italy located in the heart of the peninsula, historically the land inhabited in ancient times by the Umbrians, from whom it takes its name: with an area of 8 456 km² (of which 6 334 in the province of Perugia and 2 122 in the province of Terni) and a population of 852 313, it is the only region not located on the political or maritime borders of the Italian state and, with only 92 municipalities, the region with the fewest municipalities.

Bordered to the east and north-east by Marche, to the west and north-west by Tuscany, to the south and south-west by Lazio, also including an exclave in Marche that belongs to the municipality of Città di Castello, the regional capital is Perugia while the provinces are those of Perugia and Terni.

Characterised by a marked variety of landscapes, by virtue of the continuous succession of hilly areas and river valley floors, this articulated orographic system, which is identified with the areas of the Valle Umbra and Valtiberina, in the eastern and southern sectors of the region gradually rises with the mountainous ridges of the Valnerina until it reaches over 2,400 metres (Mount Vettore group) in the Sibillini massif, shared with the Marche. The hydrography offers the fourth largest natural lake in Italy, Lake Trasimeno, Lake Piediluco (shared with Lazio) and the artificial basin of Corbara; the region is also home to many small streams and numerous rivers: the largest among these are the Tiber, which collects almost all the waters of the other Umbrian rivers, the Nera (116 km), the Paglia (86 km), the Chiascio (82 km), the Topino (77 km) and the Nestore (42 km)

The Stages

along a unique experience,
safely prepared


an invitation to explore the beauty and
the depths of the Camino